Skip to main content
12 August 1997 | dataset

Nauru Contiguous Zone (24 Nautical Miles)

Nauru Contiguous Zone was calculated from its territorial sea baseline using a special maritime boundaries delimitation software called MarZone. The Proclamation Sea Boundaries Act 1997 states the geographical coordinates are expressed using World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS84).

A state can exert limited control for the purpose of preventing or punishing "infringement of its customs, fiscal, immigration or sanitary laws and regulations within its territory or territorial sea". This will typically be 12 nautical miles (22 km; 14 mi) wide, but could be more (if a state has chosen to claim a territorial sea of less than 12 nautical miles), or less, if it would otherwise overlap another state's contiguous zone.

Data and Resource

Field Value
Publisher Pacific Data Hub
Modified 26 April 2022
Release Date 12 August 1997
Source URL
Identifier 2bdee177-7048-44d2-a599-2678f92c79d8
Spatial / Geographical Coverage Location Array
Relevant Countries Nauru
License Public
[Open Data]
Author Array
POD Theme Pacific Regional Maritime Boundaries, Contiguous Zone, Niue Contiguous Zone