Skip to main content
12 August 1997 | dataset

Nauru Territorial Sea Zone (12 Nautical Miles)

The Nauru Territorial Sea Zone was measured from the low water line of the seaward side of the normal baseline (coast) or the low-water line of the seaward side of the reef fringing the coast. MarZone delimitation software was used to generate territorial sea limit using the World Geodetic System 1984 (WGS 84) reference datum as stipulated under the Nauru Sea Boundaries Act 1997.

Territorial sea, as defined by the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea,[1] is a belt of coastal waters extending at most 12 nautical miles (22.2 km; 13.8 mi) from the baseline (usually the mean low-water mark) of a coastal state. The territorial sea is regarded as the sovereign territory of the state, although foreign ships (military and civilian) are allowed innocent passage through it, or transit passage for straits; this sovereignty also extends to the airspace over and seabed below.

Field Value
Publisher Pacific Data Hub
Modified 26 April 2022
Release Date 12 August 1997
Source URL
Identifier 51c7ccd0-13f9-45a6-89f6-6e28e9387f7d
Spatial / Geographical Coverage Location Array
Relevant Countries Nauru
License Public
[Open Data]
Author Array