Skip to main content
02 December 2021 | dataset

Australia Maritime Boundary Treaties

Australia shares three Maritime Boundary Treaties with its Pacific neighbouring States. The following describes each treaty and its progress.

Gazetted and Entered into Force

Treaty between Australia and Papua New Guinea
Treaty between Australia and the Independent State of Papua New Guinea concerning sovereignty and maritime boundaries in the area between the two countries, including the area known as Torres Strait, and related matters, 18 December 1978 * (entry into force: 15 February 1985; registration #: 24238; registration date: 7 July 1986…

Treaty between Australia and Solomon Islands
Agreement between the Government of Solomon Islands and the Government of Australia establishing certain sea and seabed boundaries (with annexed maps), 13 September 1988 (entry into force: 14 April 1989; registration #: 26661; registration date: 23 November 1990

Treaty between Australia and France (New Caledonia)
Agreement on Marine Delimitation between the Government of Australia and the Government of the French Republic (New Caledonia, Chesterfield Islands), 4 January 1982 (entry into force: 10 January 1983; registration # 22302; registration date: 11 August 1983…

Data and Resource

Field Value
Publisher Pacific Data Hub
Modified 26 April 2022
Release Date 02 December 2021
Source URL
Identifier 6ca185c9-5542-4d54-be41-2316c6be36de
Spatial / Geographical Coverage Location Pacific Region
Relevant Countries Pacific Region
License Public
[Open Data]
Author Array